Skip to Content

Newly elected Councilmen installed in Pocatello

Mayor Brian Blad and three city councilmen were sworn to new terms on the Pocatello City Council Thursday night.

Rick Cheatum, Linda Leeuwrik and Heidi Adamson received the oath of office by City Clerk Ruth Whitworth.

“I am looking forward to building a personal working relationship with each of the other Council members and the Mayor so that together we can address Pocatello’s future,” said Councilman Rick Cheatum.

“I’m excited to work together with the other Council members, the Mayor, the City staff, and the people of Pocatello on projects both big and small that will make our city an even better place to live,” said Councilwoman Linda Leeuwrik. “I look forward to focusing on the everyday business, including managing our budget, services, and resources; building better relationships, particularly with the University, local labor, and the Tribes; and working on the responsible development of our community.”

“I am excited to have the continued opportunity to promote Pocatello,” said Councilwoman Heidi Adamson. “I look forward to working with other officials at the City as well as Chubbuck and Bannock County to enhance our community.”

Following their swearing in, Jim Johnston was elected Council President. The Council President serves as the head of the City Council and helps represent the City at various events. The Council President also serves as Acting Mayor when the Mayor is unavailable.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

News Team


KIFI Local News 8 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content