Skip to Content

2023 Bingham County Mayors Scholarship recipients announced

Pixabay / kopshop

BINGHAM COUNTY, Idaho (KIFI) - The Bingham County Mayors Scholarship Selection Committee has formally evaluated 64 applicants. Selections were made by contributing sponsors and committee members.

In total, $23,000 will be awarded to 46 applicants. These awards went to students from Bingham County high schools, to include Aberdeen, Blackfoot, Firth, Shelley, Sho-Ban and Snake River.

All monetary support is a direct result of Bingham County Mayors Scholarship contributions made by the general public and the following corporate sponsors: Bingham Healthcare, The Candy Jar, Idaho Central Credit Union, Idaho National Laboratory, Shoshone-Bannock Tribes, Blackfoot Anesthesia Services, Cox's Honey, Lookout Credit Union, Odell’s Furniture, Diesel Depot, Larry & Irene Barrett, Bank of Commerce, Spudnik, City of Aberdeen, Blackfoot Elks Lodge 1416, and D.L. Evans Bank.

These scholarships will be used specifically for post-secondary education. This program helps eliminate barriers to a collegial education through financial assistance and sends a message to our youth that they can compete at any level.

All scholarships will be awarded at the annual Bingham County Mayors Scholarship Awards Gala, scheduled for Tuesday, April 25, 2023, at 6:00 pm at the Shoshone-Bannock Jr/Sr High School, 50 S. Hiline Rd. in Fort Hall.

A complete list of scholarship recipients (and their sponsors) are:


  • Payton Bird (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Karlee Coles (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Spencer Cook (Idaho Central CU)
  • Gavyn Cornell (Candy Jar)
  • Kirsten Harris (Candy Jar)
  • Tradyn Henderson (Blackfoot Anesthesia)
  • Kelsey Inskeep (DL Evans Bank)
  • Jocelin Pelayo-Cardona (Bank of Commerce)
  • Crystal Salinas (Mayors & Chairman)
  • Sydney Stuart (INL)
  • Tiffany Tone (Lookout CU)
  • Klancy Van Orden (Diesel Depot)


  • Mallory Erickson (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Luke Hansen (Candy Jar)
  • Jordyn Jensen (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Connor Johnson (Blackfoot Anesthesia)
  • Dawson Jolley (Spudnik)
  • Kirsten Jolley (Elks Lodge 1416)
  • Olivia McKnight (Candy Jar)
  • Burton Park (Idaho Central CU)
  • Tiffany Russell (Lookout CU)


  • Katelyn Benson (Cox’s Honey)
  • Lucy Christensen (INL)
  • Ian Dobson (Blackfoot Anesthesia)
  • Madisyn Draper (Idaho Central CU)
  • Kaylee Newell (Candy Jar)
  • Tenlee Staples (Cox’s Honey)
  • Braxton Tanner (Cox’s Honey)
  • Nathan Thyberg (Spudnik)


  • Brelynn Anderson (Sho-Ban Tribes)
  • Rayfield Appenay Jr. (Sho-Ban Tribes)
  • Annaleece Deluna (Larry & Irene Barrett)
  • Beauleah Farmer (Mayors & Chairman)
  • Jeremy Friday Jr. (Larry & Irene Barrett)
  • Summer Pohipe (Sho-Ban Tribes)
  • Taryn Saiz (Diesel Depot)
  • Ava Zamora (INL)


  • Emyrie Adams (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Harlee David (INL)
  • Elise Driscoll (Odells Furniture)
  • Samantha Egbert (Candy Jar)
  • Miriam Hammond (Idaho Central CU)
  • Abby Larsen (Aberdeen)
  • Ellen Thomas (Idaho Central CU)
  • Gisselle Trejo (Bank of Commerce)
  • Lindsey Williams (Odells Furniture)

Article Topic Follows: Education

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

News Team


KIFI Local News 8 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content