Skip to Content

All Wyoming counties included in disaster declaration

US Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has approved disaster designations for 22 Wyoming counties. Teton County has been named a contiguous disaster county, allowing agricultural operators in all 23 Wyoming counties to be eligible for some form of federal drought assistance.

Governor Matt Mead requested the drought declarations in light of worsening conditions across the state. Teton County was the only county that did not report grazing and dryland hay loss in excess of disaster thresholds. He said the designation will allow agriculture operators in all 23 counties to be eligible for assistance through the Farm Service Agency.

Each producer must meet eligibility requirements and the assistance can include emergency loans. Local Farm Service agencies throughout Wyoming can provide additional information to agriculture operators.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

News Team


KIFI Local News 8 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content