Skip to Content

No Ronaldo as Salah joins Messi, Lewandowski for FIFA award


ZURICH (AP) — Cristiano Ronaldo has been left off the three-man shortlist for FIFA’s best player award for only the second time in 15 years. Mohamed Salah was voted on ahead of the five-time winner. Six-time FIFA award winner Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski are also candidates to win on Jan. 17. Lewandowski won last year ahead of Ronaldo and Messi. No player from European Championship-winning team Italy or Champions League winner Chelsea were voted to the shortlist. Voting was done by national team captains and coaches, plus media and fans worldwide.

Article Topic Follows: AP National Sports

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

Associated Press


KIFI Local News 8 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content