Skip to Content

Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov win Nobel Peace Prize


By Rob Picheta, CNN

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for “their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.”

The announcement was made on Friday at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo.

It is the 102nd time the prize has been awarded. Previous winners include Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Jr., Polish dissident Lech Walesa, the Soviet Union’s last leader Mikhail Gorbachev, and four US Presidents.

Last year the UN’s World Food Programme claimed the prize. Nobel Prizes in medicine, physics, chemistry and literature were given out earlier this week.

This is a breaking story. More details soon.

™ & © 2021 Cable News Network, Inc., a WarnerMedia Company. All rights reserved.

Article Topic Follows: CNN - World

Jump to comments ↓

CNN Newsource


KIFI Local News 8 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content